Second Presbyterian Church, Jevne & Almini, 1866
The stately Gothic Revival
structure completed for Second Presbyterian Church at the northeast corner of
Wabash and Washington in 1851 was among the most prominent and celebrated buildings
in pre-Fire Chicago. The survival of its walls and 164-foot bell tower made it a
frequently photographed site in the months after the Fire. In this article, we
will examine many aspects of the building – an important work of architect
James Renwick Jr.; a theory as to why the exterior walls survived largely
intact; and what became of the site in the months and years following the great
conflagration that leveled much of Chicago.
Second Presbyterian
Church was organized in 1842 with 26 charter members, including Benjamin
Raymond, at the time serving his second of two terms as mayor of Chicago. The
congregation’s first building was a modest one-story frame structure located at
the southeast corner of Randolph and Clark (now part of the site of the Richard
J. Daley Center). Within five years, the growth of the congregation and the
encroachment of business in this part of downtown resulted in the trustees
purchasing a new lot for $5,000 at the northeast corner of Wabash and
Washington, in what was then a quiet residential neighborhood. The property
backed up to Dearborn Place (now Garland Court) and Dearborn Park, which
extended east to Michigan Avenue (and is now the site of the Chicago Cultural
Center).
A $100 premium was
offered for the best building plan, but only a few were submitted, and none of
those proved satisfactory. A church trustee traveling to New York was introduced
to architect James Renwick Jr., who was then completing the Church of the
Pilgrims on Union Square. Renwick was quickly gaining a reputation for his
buildings in the Gothic Revival style, including Grace Church in New York City,
and his recently accepted plan for the Smithsonian Institution “Castle” in
Washington, D.C. (His best-known work, St. Patrick’s Cathedral in New York
City, would follow later, and was constructed between 1858 and 1879).

Renwick accepted the Second
Presbyterian commission and the approved budget of $25,000. Soon after, he submitted
his sketch for the building, which was to be constructed of “tar rock,” a local
limestone quarried about four miles northwest of downtown, noted for its
bituminous tar deposits which gave it a spotted appearance (shown below). The stone was
quarried, brought to the building lot, and then cut during the fall and winter
of 1848. Work on the foundations began in the spring of 1849. This early work
was superintended by George Washington Snow, a church trustee and Chicago-based
architect remembered today as the inventor of the balloon frame method of
constructing wooden buildings.

During the summer of
1849, architect and builder Asher Carter of Morristown, New Jersey, was engaged
to oversee the completion of the building. He was the second professional architect
to practice in Chicago, and later formed a partnership with Augustus Bauer, designing
such well-known buildings as Old St. Patrick’s Catholic Church.
Earliest known photograph of the church. Note the elegant residence at 21 Washington Street shown at far left.
The cornerstone of the
church was laid in August 1849 and work was substantially completed by the end
of 1850. A service of dedication took place on the evening of Friday, January
24, 1851. The building came in just over the original budget, although the
addition of a bell and clock in the bell tower brought the cost to about
$35,000. A 50th anniversary history of the church, published in
1892, noted the following about the bell and clock:
“The bell and clock
were popular features in the equipment of the church. The bell, key of E flat,
large, heavy and rich in tone, was a very important factor in securing the
prompt attendance of the congregation at the regular services.
“The clock gave its
warning strike when it was time for the pastor to say, ‘In conclusion.’
Occasionally a stranger in the pulpit would prolong his discourse until he saw
unmistakable evidence that some of the congregation wanted him to conclude,
after the clock had finished striking twelve.”
A newspaper article
published in December 1850 noted that “it is perhaps the most magnificent
Church edifice in the West.” It is believed to have been one of the first
structures in Chicago constructed of stone, predating other buildings erected
during the 1850s with “Athens marble,” a limestone quarried in the region of Joliet
and Lemont. More importantly, it appears to have been the first building west
of New York to have been built in the Gothic Revival style, setting a trend in
Chicago (and elsewhere) that continued through the time of the fire.
Photo looking east from the cupola of the Court House taken in 1858 by Alexander Hesler. Second Presbyterian Church can be seen in the upper right hand corner of the top photo; the detail shot below shows the church and, to the left, the Dearborn Seminary for Young Ladies.
The distinctive
limestone with its “antique appearance” quickly earned the building the name of
the “Spotted Church.” Other more lighthearted sources referred to it as the
“Church of the Holy Zebra.” (For an interesting discussion of the stone and its
later uses in Chicago, click here.)
1857 Braunhold & Sonne map showing the back (east) facade of the church, which faced into Dearborn Park. Note that the church is completely surrounded by residences.
By the mid-1860s, the
church found itself facing the same predicament it had encountered twenty years earlier –
namely the encroachment of business into a residential neighborhood. The two
maps shown below, dated 1862 and 1869, show this rapid transformation. In the
1862 map, produced by E. Whitefield for Rufus Blanchard, all the lots
surrounding the church were occupied by dwellings, except for the Dearborn
Seminary - a private school for girls on the west side of Wabash, and an
Episcopal church – the Church of the Holy Communion – a few doors north of
Second Presbyterian. (That church, visible at far left in the top image of this article, was built in 1859, and abandoned just nine
years later when the congregation relocated three miles south).
1862 Blanchard map
As seen in the 1869
Sanborn Fire Insurance map, the entire block north of the church had been
rebuilt with large commercial blocks. One of the largest was the five-story
building for the wholesale druggists Lord & Smith immediately north of the
church, which would have blocked all light through the north facing stained
glass windows. J. V. Farwell & Co. offered the church $192,000 for its
prime corner location – a lot which had cost just $5,000 twenty years earlier.
1869 Sanborn map, the church is shown in blue at center.
Church members were
divided on what to do. William Bross, then serving as Lieutenant Governor of
Illinois, recommended razing the church building and erecting a large business
block with stores and offices on the first two floors, and a large auditorium
for church purposes on the top floor. (The Methodists did adopt this type of
plan and remain to this day in the Chicago Temple on the site of their original
church building at Washington and Clark).
The chief objection to
remaining at the downtown location was the fact that many of the church members
were moving out of the area and relocating to an area two to three miles to the
south. It was feared that these members would opt to build a new church
convenient to their homes, thus abandoning the old Second Church downtown.
The church as it appeared about 1870. Note the large Lord & Smith building immediately to the north.
Finally, during the
summer of 1871, the congregation voted to sell the downtown property for
$161,000 to Timothy Wright while retaining ownership of the building itself. A
new site was purchased at the corner of Wabash and Twentieth, later exchanged
for the present lot at the northwest corner of Michigan and Twentieth (now
Cullerton). At the same time, the congregation formally merged with the Olivet
Presbyterian Church, at the time located at Wabash and 14th Street,
the combined congregation to take possession of the new building upon its
completion.
The final service was
held at the old church building at Wabash and Washington on Sunday, October 1,
1871. The next day, the Chicago Tribune reported:
“The rapidity of the
growth of this city would seem to be an exhausted theme did not some new
occurrence almost daily impress it upon us. The disappearance of one building
of note after another, in the more central part of the city, to make room for
the raising of one more suitable to commercial needs, is one of the indications
. . . Now the obituary of the Second Presbyterian Church, situated on the
corner of Washington street and Wabash avenue, must be written. The last gasp
was taken by the old church yesterday morning; the old building is dead;
decomposition will soon set in.”
A reunion of current
and former church members took place on the evening of Tuesday, October 3,
after which the building was closed. In the meantime, the trustees continued
their efforts to sell the building to someone who would dismantle it and reuse
the stone for a new structure.
On Sunday, October 8,
1871, exactly one week after the last service was held in the building, the
Great Chicago Fire ignited in the barn behind Mrs. O’Leary’s home at 137 De
Koven Street. On Monday, the fire consumed the entire downtown district,
including the church building. When the smoke cleared the next day, almost all of
the downtown buildings were totally destroyed. It was quickly noted, however,
that the walls and bell tower of Second Presbyterian Church had survived
virtually intact, a fact made even more remarkable when noted that the Lord
& Smith building immediately to the north was partially blown up as part of
an unsuccessful attempt to create a firebreak.
The church looking west from Michigan Avenue
Use of the bituminous
limestone may have been a factor in the survival of the building. An article
from the October 26 edition of the Chicago Tribune, however, noted that
confusion over the use of the stone and its ability to withstand fire was
widespread:
“A writer in the
American edition of Chambers Edinburgh Journal, published before the fire,
stated that in the neighborhood of Chicago are enormous deposits of ‘oil-bearing
limestone,’ of which many houses are built. Inspired by this suggestion,
numerous papers are discussing in the East whether the uncontrollable fury of
the fire, and the rapid demolition of all our stone structures, were not owing
to the use of this bituminous stone. Various buildings are cited, and their
speedy destruction looked upon as proof that the intense heat under which they
yielded, was due to the presence of the oil in the stone.
“To all of which it is
only necessary to state that the supposed oil-bearing stone was not used in
this city, except in some cases for foundations, which are all intact, and that
the only structure of any size built of that material, was the Second
Presbyterian Church, the walls of which are all standing and did not crumble or
melt under the heat. The stone mainly used was the Athens marble, a limestone formation,
handsome, easily worked, which had become a favorite with builders. Until this
fire it had exhibited no special incapacity to resist heat.”
The church looking north from Madison Street across the ruins of the Drake Block.
The church looking east from State Street across the ruins of Field, Leiter & Co.
(It is interesting to
note that the walls of the present Second Presbyterian Church, constructed of
the same bituminous limestone, also survived a devastating fire in March 1900
that completely destroyed the sanctuary and roof).
The church building
was quickly put into use. Church member Charles P. Kellogg was the owner of a
large clothing manufacturing business which had been burned out in the fire. By
the end of October, Kellogg advertised:
“To those of our
customers who have been obliged to buy Clothing for the past three weeks in St.
Louis, Cincinnati, Milwaukee, St. Paul, Dubuque, St. Joseph, and other inferior
markets, we desire to state that we have rented the old Second Presbyterian Church,
corner Wabash-av. and Washington-st., which we are now roofing over, making of
it as good a store as circumstances will permit. We shall take immediate steps
to fill this store with a more desirable stock than ever before exhibited by
us, and shall do our whole duty in re-establishing the reputation that this
market has always sustained of being the best clothing market in the country.”
Church building showing temporary roof installed over the sanctuary by Charles Kellogg.
The side walls of the
church building were 31 feet high, so Kellogg was able to divide the former
sanctuary into two floors containing nearly 20,000 square feet of usable space.
His company moved into its new building on Madison Street near Market by May
1872, at which time he advertised the former church space for rent.
After the fire, the
church collected the insurance proceeds on the building, and the stone became
the property of Timothy Wright, who had purchased the land in August 1871. He
apparently entered into an agreement with the congregation, as it was noted in
August 1872 that “a portion of the stone of the old is being used in the new
Second Presbyterian Church, now being rapidly rebuilt, at the corner of
Michigan avenue and Twentieth street.”
The building stood
largely intact for nearly two years. An article from June 1873 stated that “in
the way of ruins our visitors are considerably more than a year too late to see
much.” Mention was made of a portion of the Court House which still stood,
along with partial walls of the post office and the Grand Central Depot, but
the “most picturesque of all the ruins is that of the Second Presbyterian
Church.”
By September 1873,
demolition of the building was finally underway and by the next month
excavation began for a hotel planned by Timothy Wright. During demolition, the
cornerstone of the church was located, its tin box containing water-soaked
copies of various newspapers and periodicals from 1849, and a Morocco
leatherbound pocket Bible.
Wright salvaged much
of the stone and transported it to Winnetka, where he intended to build a
church in memory of his mother, who had been one of the charter members of
Second Presbyterian. The church plan never materialized, and the stone was
eventually sold to J. Hall McCormick, who hauled it to Lake Forest with the
intention of building a house. His plans changed, and he sold the stone to the
trustees of the First Presbyterian Church of Lake Forest, which used it in the
construction of its new building, designed by architect Henry Ives Cobb, and
dedicated on June 10, 1887. The use was most appropriate as the Lake Forest church
had close ties with Second Presbyterian. The Lake Forest Association was begun
in the lecture room of the old church in 1856, and three years later the church
was organized in the same space.
First Presbyterian Church of Lake Forest showing the spotted stone.
(Photo by Steve Sabourin)
For unknown reasons,
Wright never moved forward with his plans to build a hotel on the former site
of the church. In December 1876, he sold the land to John Taylor of New York
for $97,500, just 60% of what he had paid for it five years earlier. Taylor
quickly proceeded with the construction of a four-story business block which
cost about $100,000. By October 1877, the building was leased to a large
clothing firm, H. A. Kohn & Bros. (That building was replaced in 1915 by
the Garland Building, a 21-story structure designed by Christian Eckstorm which
still stands).
The Garland Building looking west from Michigan Avenue.
The stone was not the
only part of the building which survived. After the church held its final
service on October 1, 1871, two ornate Gothic Revival pulpit chairs, part of
the design by James Renwick Jr., were removed and sent off for reupholstering.
That location was outside the burnt district and the chairs survived. They can still
be seen on display in the narthex of the current church.
Perhaps the most
interesting part of the building to survive was its wondrous bell, or at least
parts of it. During the fire, the bell came crashing down from its perch high
up in the tower. It was rescued and found its way to the jewelry firm of I.
& C. W. Speer & Co. In February 1872, the firm began advertising that a
variety of souvenirs of the fire were being made from the bell. (Souvenirs were
also made from the bells salvaged from the Court House and St. Mary’s Church).
“The oldest bells from
the great fire are made into charms by the oldest manufacturers, I. & C. W.
Speer & Co., established 1843. They are now making twenty-five different
kinds of charms, including the beautiful paper weight, the cow kicking over the
lamp; beautiful Bibles, with date of fire on the cover; bells, book-marks,
tea-bells, and all other charms from the famous old Second Presbyterian Church
bell, which was the first that rang the fire alarms, by authority of the city
of Chicago.”

The story of the
second building occupied by Second Presbyterian Church is significant. The
“Spotted Church” was an important early design of architect James Renwick Jr.
which introduced Gothic Revival to the West and ushered in the age of stone
buildings in Chicago. The reuse of the stone from the walls that miraculously
survived the fire, along with the existence of the pulpit chairs and souvenirs
from the church bell are all tangible links to the Great Chicago Fire that
forever changed the destiny of Chicago.ADDITIONAL IMAGES SHOWING THE BUILDING AFTER THE FIRE
The First National Bank, seen through the front entrance of the church, was one of the few buildings in downtown Chicago to survive largely intact.